Making it possible for children and young people in rural areas to have direct encounters with artists – that was the idea when the Crespo Foundation set up the flying artist’s room in 2018 as a programme for cultural development in schools, in cooperation with the Hessian Ministry of Education and Cultural Affairs (HKM) and the Hessian Ministry of Science and the Arts (HMWK). In summer 2022, the concept is being expanded to include a flying artist’s room in an urban setting, with a new approach to work in cities and a mobile studio landing at documenta fifteen in Kassel as part of the mediation platform CAMP notes on education as a CAMP workspace for its Arts Educators in Residence programme.


at schools
in an urban setting
at documenta fifteen

The flying artist’s room  – a mobile live-in studio – “lands” on school playgrounds in rural parts of Hessen, providing a space in which artists live and work. For at least one school year, these artists in residence try out creative work processes with the whole school community. In the 2022/23 school year, the programme is being extended to six studios with the addition of a further three schools.

In summer 2022, the concept is also being expanded with a new approach to work in urban areas. For the flying artist’s room in an urban setting, another mobile studio will be taking up residence for two years in the Frankfurt district of Preungesheim. The aim is to allow children and young people in particular, but also other interested residents in Preungesheim, to directly participate in art and cultural education.

From 15 June 2022, the flying artist’s room is also being hosted for a period of one hundred days by the international art exhibition documenta fifteen. As part of the mediation platform CAMP notes on education, the studio is becoming a CAMP workspace for its Arts Educators in Residence programme.

Kindern und Jugendlichen auch in ländlichen Räumen die unmittelbare Begegnung mit Künstler:innen zu ermöglichen – das war der Gedanke der Crespo Foundation, als sie 2018 „Das fliegende Künstlerzimmer“ als Programm zur kulturellen Schulentwicklung in Kooperation mit dem Hessischen Kultusministerium (HKM) und dem Hessischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst (HMWK) ins Leben rief. Im Sommer 2022 wurde das Konzept als „Das fliegende Künstlerzimmer im Quartier“ mit einem neuen Ansatz auf die Stadtteilarbeit ausgeweitet, und ein mobiles Atelier landete im Rahmen der Vermittlungsplattform CAMP notes on education als „CAMP workspace“ für das „Arts Educators in Residence“-Programm für einhundert Tage auf der documenta fifteen in Kassel.


an schulen
im quartier
auf der documenta fifteen

Das fliegende Künstlerzimmer – ein mobiles Wohn-Atelier – „landet“ auf Schulhöfen in ländlichen Regionen Hessens und dient dort als Arbeits- und Wohnort für Künstler:innen, die als „Artists in Residence“ gemeinsam mit der ganzen Schulgemeinschaft für mindestens ein Schuljahr kreative Arbeitsprozesse erproben. Im Schuljahr 2022/23 ist das Programm mit sechs Ateliers auf drei weitere Schulen ausgeweitet worden.

Bereits im Sommer 2022 ist das Konzept zudem mit einem neuen Ansatz auf die Stadtteilarbeit ausgeweitet worden: Als fliegendes Künstlerzimmer im Quartier gastiert ein weiteres mobiles Atelier für zwei Jahre im Frankfurter Stadtteil Preungesheim und soll dort besonders Kindern und Jugendlichen, aber auch allen interessierten Bewohner:innen aus Preungesheim die unmittelbare Teilhabe an Kunst und kultureller Bildung ermöglichen.

Von Mitte Juni bis Ende September 2022 war das fliegende Künstlerzimmer außerdem für einhundert Tage zu Gast auf der internationalen Kunstausstellung documenta fifteen. Im Rahmen der Vermittlungsplattform CAMP notes on education wurde das Atelier dort zum „CAMP workspace“ für das Programm „Arts Educators in Residence“.